Alestorm Long Sleeves


    Years Active
    2007 – present (15 years)

    Founded In
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland, United Kingdom

    Alexander Tabisz (2008 – 2008)
    Christopher Bowes (2007 – present)
    Dani Evans (2007 – 2015)
    Elliot Vernon (2011 – present)
    Gareth Murdock (2008 – present)
    Gavin Harper (2007 – 2008)
    Ian Wilson (2007 – 2010)
    Máté Bodor (2015 – present)
    Peter Alcorn (2010 – present)
    Tim Shaw (2008 – 2008)

    Alestorm is a multi-national folk metal band originally from Perth, Scotland. Their music is characterized by a pirate theme, and as a result they have been dubbed a "pirate metal" band by many critics and their fanbase.

    After signing to Napalm Records in 2007, their debut album Captain Morgan's Revenge, was released on 25 January 2008. Black Sails at Midnight, the band's second album, was released on 27 May 2009. The band's third album, Back Through Time, was released on 3 June 2011. The fourth album from the band, Sunset on the Golden Age, was released in August 2014. Their fifth album No Grave But the Sea was released on 26 May 2017. Their sixth and latest album, Curse of the Crystal Coconut, was released on 29 May 2020.

    The band was founded in 2004 as Battleheart, a studio project by Christopher Bowes and Gavin Harper. Originally intended as a standard power metal band, the success of song "Heavy Metal Pirates" convinced the band to permanently adopt a pirate theme and incorporate folk metal elements into their music. Gavin and Christopher recorded & released two independent demos in 2006, which were received well by the local metal community. The band began to perform live in 2006, with a lineup consisting of Bowes (vocals and keytar), Harper (guitars), Dani Evans (bass) and Doug Swierczek (drums). Doug Swierczek eventually left the band later that year and was replaced by Ian Wilson. After a period of inactivity, in late 2007 Battleheart sent their demos to Napalm Records, and the band was promptly offered a record deal.

    After being signed by Napalm Records, the band changed their name from Battleheart to Alestorm. Their debut album, Captain Morgan's Revenge, was released in early 2008.